VSFA Seeks District Representatives – Would You or Someone You Know Make a Great Candidate?

The VSFA is seeking members to serve as District Representatives for the Executive Committee around the Commonwealth. A reorganization approved by the general membership has created new opportunities, and the death or retirement of some longtime representatives is opening new slots. The VSFA is taking this opportunity to locate, identify, and appoint representatives that can and will meet our associations and members' needs today and tomorrow. The VSFA seeks representatives who are members in good standing with a VSFA member organization and who can meet these requirements as set forth in our Bylaws.

In addition to being able to meet the requirements of the Bylaws, the VSFA expects that District Representatives can:

- Help establish, maintain, and grow professional relationships
- Promote the mutual benefits of communications, cooperation, and collaboration between the Executive Committee and its partner organizations and programs, as well as the members of the association representing stakeholder interests across 21 districts in Virginia
- Substantially meet the association's competencies in the areas of communication, teamwork, problem solving, planning and organizing, technology, and learning. Additional competencies require the ability to manage one's own activities and to demonstrate initiative and enterprise in providing better service to our members, and to our association itself.

There are vacancies in eight districts (listed below), and suitable candidates will live in one of the currently unrepresented districts. For more details and information, please contact VSFA Executive Director, Larry Gwaltney at (757) 810-8335 or contact him by e-mail at lsgwaltney@cox.net.

District 1 – LENOWISCO: This district serves the Counties of Lee, Scott, Wise and the City of Norton.

District 3 – Mount Rogers: This district serves the Counties of Bland, Carroll, Grayson, Smyth, Washington, and Wythe, and the independent Cities of Bristol and Galax.

District 4 – New River Valley: This district serves the Counties of Giles, Pulaski, Montgomery, Floyd, Radford

District 9 – Rappahannock-Rapidan: This district serves the Counties of Culpeper, Fauquier, Madison, Orange, and Rappahannock.

District 12 – West Piedmont: This district serves the Counties of Franklin, Henry, Patrick, Pittsylvania, and the independent Cities of Danville and Martinsville.

District 13 – Southside: This district serves the Counties of Brunswick, Halifax, and Mecklenburg.

District 15 – Richmond: This district serves the Counties of Charles City, Chesterfield, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, New Kent, Powhatan, and the City of Richmond.

District 19 – Crater: This district serves the Counties of Dinwiddie, Greensville, Prince George, Surry, and Sussex, and the independent Cities of Colonial Heights, Emporia, Hopewell, and Petersburg